The Artist-Blacksmith's Association of North America (ABANA)        


ABANA is dedicated to perpetuating the noble art of blacksmithing. A blacksmith is one who shapes and forges iron with hammer and anvil. ABANA encourages and facilitates the training of blacksmiths; disseminates information about sources of material and equipment; exposes the art of blacksmithing to the public; serves as a center of information about blacksmithing for the general public, architects, interior designers, and other interested parties.

Business - Humble Award

The Joe Humble Award

The Joe Humble Newsletter Editor of the Year Award was initiated by the ABANA Board of Directors in 1994 to give recognition to the workers who publish the affiliate newsletters. It was named in honor of the first affiliate newsletter editor who published a monthly edition for over 14 years. Joe was on the ABANA Board, served as president and established the first affiliate. The voting is done by the editors so the winner is selected by his/her peers. Many of the editors exchange newsletters with other affiliates so they know what all the other editors are publishing.

Proposed Guidelines For The Joe Humble Newsletter Editor Of The Year Award

The ABANA president will appoint a Newsletter Editor of the Year Coordinator to arrange the voting, receive the ballots by mail or e-mail, count the ballots, notify the Board, assure that the award made and recommend when/where the award is to be presented.Editors may vote for any current or former Affiliate newsletter editor. The winner must be an ABANA member (or spouse) in good standing. Anyone who has won the award will not be eligible to win for the next 5 years. A ballot is sent to all active editors once each year with the affiliate liaison mailing, requesting that each editor return the ballot with the name of the editor they choose, post marked by a specified date. The editor receiving the most votes will receive the Humble Award.

Joe Humble Award Winners

1994 Clay Spencer Alabama
1995 Jim McCarthy Missouri
Donnie Fullwood Georgia
1996 Gene and Peg Chapman Washington
1997 Kim Harris North Carolina
1998 Bob Thompson California
2000 Marcia McEacheron Minnesota
2002 Jerry Kagele Washington
Julie Pickett Colorado
2004 Dave Smucker North Carolina
2006 Bill Clemens Blacksmith Guild of Central Maryland Hammer and Tong
2012 Chris Holt Pittsburgh Area Artist Blacksmith Association Newsletter

Chris Holt receiving Humble Award from Bill Clemens
Chris Holt, PAABA Newsletter Editor, Receiving the 2012 Humble Award from Bill Clemens, ABANA Secretary and 2006 Humble Award Winner